Project SDVX: Part 3

← Part 2 | None 

Previously I got the Arduino Uno with the intention of using it to read my rotary encoders, which were to be used as my controller’s analog knobs. It turns out that the Uno can read the encoders… it just can’t output to keyboard/mouse. So I went and got myself another Arduino, the Leonardo. Should have done my research first.

It's about the same size as the Uno, but uses a micro-USB cable

It’s about the same size as the Uno, but uses a micro-USB cable

In any case, after a bit of research I found this tutorial on bildr. The code works well, and throwing in a Mouse.move statement allows the encoder to control a mouse cursor. This is useful because K-shoot Mania has a setting which lets you control the left and right lasers by “Custom Controller (Mouse X/Y)”.

The middle pin connects to ground, and the other two connect to input pins.

The middle pin connects to ground, and the other two connect to input pins.

I’m still doing a bit of fine tuning with the code so that it plays smoothly, but I’m glad that the encoders work. I’ll have to start making a box to house all the components soon.

← Part 2 | None 

Leave a Reply

